Friday, March 3, 2017

FINAL HORN: Floyd going to first sectional final in 13 years with 44-26 win

SEYMOUR – Floyd Central earned its first trip to a sectional final since 2004 Friday night at Scott Gym, defeating Seymour in the Class 4A Seymour Sectional semifinals 44-26.
The Highlanders (19-4) will face top-ranked and defending Class 4A state champion New Albany (23-3) in the championship game at 7:30 p.m. Saturday. The Bulldogs defeated Bedford North Lawrence in the other semi Friday night 89-52.
It will be the first time Floyd Central and New Albany have met in a sectional title contest in 13 years when the Bulldogs beat the Highlanders in the 4A Seymour Sectional final 73-65.
Floyd Central has never won a sectional championship in the class system. In fact, the Highlanders’ last sectional championship was in 1989 when they advanced to the Final Four and their star player, Pat Graham, was named Indiana Mr. Basketball.
The biggest key in Floyd’s victory over Seymour was its defense. The Highlanders held the Owls (9-15) to 5-of-28 shooting (17.9 percent). Seymour did not score in double digits in one quarter. The Owls also made just one field goal apiece in the first three stanzas.
Sophomore forward Cobie Barnes was the only Floyd player to score in double figures with a game-high 10 points. He also grabbed a game-high eight rebounds.
Teammate Trevor Apple tallied nine points and Highlander junior Luke Gohmann had eight. Alan Perry and Tiller Cummings each led Seymour with six. Floyd outrebounded Seymour 38-17.
The Highlanders lost at New Albany in the regular-season meeting between the Floyd County rivals 65-42 on Dec. 9
Check Southern Indiana Preps on Saturday for a complete breakdown of Friday’s first semifinal of the Class 4A Seymour Sectional between Floyd Central and the host Owls.

Floyd Central      11 10 15 8-44
Seymour                4   8   6  8-26
Floyd Central (19-4): Cobie Barnes 10, Trevor Apple 9, Luke Gohmann 8, Brendon Hobson 6, Tyler Kimm 5, Matthew Weimer 4, Evan Nichols 2, Thomas Hibbard 0, Gabe Shireman 0, Levi Siewert 0, Cam Sturgeon 0, Nick Winchell 0.
Seymour (9-15): Tiller Cummings 6, Alan Perry 6, Tyler Bloom 5, Ty McCory 3, Jordan Miller 3, Dylan Wilson 2, Alex Hofer 1, Evens Cribs 0, Max Otte 0.
3-point field goals: Floyd Central 2 (Gohmann 1, Kimm 1); Seymour 3 (Bloom 1, McCory 1, Perry 1).
Rebounds: Floyd Central 38 (Barnes 8); Seymour 17 (Bloom 7).
Turnovers: Floyd Central 9, Seymour 12.
Total fouls: Floyd Central 17, Seymour 14.
Fouled out: none.
Technical fouls: Nichols.

No comments:

Post a Comment